Seraing – Beerschot: 1-2

Beerschot recorded its sixth away win of the season despite a muddy surface and a prejudiced referee. Reyners and Nzita each scored an early goal in every half. Seraing then put one back with a gift wrapped penalty but our Mannekes consolidated their margin, also thanks to a brilliant save from Matijas in injury time.

Reyners opened the score after just ten minutes when he intercepted a disastrous back pass in the Seraing defence and slotted home. Beerschot easily and convincingly  remained the better team and created scoring opportunities through Nzita and Michez but Margueron saved their shots.  

Five minutes before half time the home team were lucky that Lepoint wasn't sent off for a nasty foul on Weymans. Ref Pirard incredibly waved play on. Early in the secondf half Beerschot doubled the score when Nzita headed home from a corner from Matthys. Our Mannekes looked home and dry but ref Pirard gave Seraing new hope by pointing to the spot after an imaginary foul from Konstantopoulos on Kilota. Segbe put Matijas on the wrong foot from eleven metres. 1-2.

During the second half heavy rain made the pitch look like a swimming pool in some areas and the match died down. Reyners tried his luck from just outside the box but the ball zoomed over. In the dying minutes the game livened up again when Raillot was sent off. Beerschot put the pressure on and Reyners and Weymans got opportunities for a third goal... bit it was Seraing that come close to an equaliser in added on time when Margueron headed towards the bottom right corner... but Matijas produced an incredible save and so made sure we took the three points.   

SERAING: Margueron, Solheid, (‘4 Kebe), Kilota, Cachbach, Guillaume, Ndiaye, Metanire, Lepoint, Douane, Segbe, Dembele.
BEERSCHOT: Matijas, Matthys, Reyners, Alhassan (‘7 Van Himbeeck), Sanusi, Nzita, Tshimanga, Keita, Weymans, Konstantopoulos, Michez.
DOELPUNTEN: ’10 Reyners (0-1), ’47 Nzita (0-2), ’54 Segbe (1-2)
RODE KAARTEN: ’86 Raillot

Jupiler Pro League

1 K. Beerschot V.A. 43 pts
2 K.M.S.K Deinze 43 pts
3 Patro Eisden Maasmechelen 40 pts
4 SV Zulte Waregem 39 pts
5 SK Lommel 39 pts