Beerschot recorded their first Play Off-victory, which was both heart warming and deserved. Thibo Baeten scored the only goal in an intense provincial derby just before the hour and Beerschot never looked back after that. 

Andreas Wieland's team started well and adopted to a 4-3-3-style for this match instead of its typical 3-4-3-formation. Thorisson came close early in the game but saw his shot come off Lierse goalkeeper De Smet's hand and against the post. Minutes later Seydoux was elbowed in the box by Pupe: a clear penalty and red card offence but the ref incredibly waved play on. Beerschot were by far the better team in that period with Lierse threatening on the break... but Lathouwers had an easy afternoon.

On the brink of half time and after Van den Bergh hit the side netting Lierse lost Vekemans with a red card after a hard challenge on Van den Bergh's ankle. With 11 against 10 our Mannekes put Lierse even under more pressure... and that eventually paid off just before the hour when Baeten finished a low cross from Verlinden into the top corner which put us 1-0 up.

The game got more physical after that goal with fierce duels and some over the top tackles that resulted in a handful of yellow cards out of ref Van Driessche's pocket. Lierse came close on just one occasion but Lathouwers' intervention was neat as he palmed the ball into corner.  In the dying seconds Beerschot got a golden opportunity to score a second when Verlinden was quick on the break, passed to Thorisson but our Icelandic striker couldn't finish in a one on one with the home goalkeeper.

GOALS: 58’ Baeten
BEERSCHOT: Lathouwers, Seydoux (’86 Frans), Van den Bergh, Matthys, Meisl, Koshi (’71 Alhassan) , Rigo, Baeten, Verlinden, Thorisson, Sebaoui (’71 Quirynen).
K. LIERSE SK: De Smet, De Schrijver (’65 Schouterden), Pupe, Laes (’75 Walbrecq), Van Acker, De Schryver (’65 Sampers), Delorge, Vekemans, Raemaekers, Tabekou (’75 Safari), Poelmans.
YELLOW CARDS: De Schryver, Meisl, Sebaoui, Poelmans, Thorisson, Schouterden, Van den Bergh
RED CARDS: Vekemans

Jupiler Pro League

1 K. Beerschot V.A. 50 pts
2 SK Lommel 48 pts
3 K.M.S.K Deinze 46 pts
4 F.C.V. Dender E.H 45 pts
5 Patro Eisden Maasmechelen 43 pts